Friday, September 18, 8.00 pm

Currently we are not selling tickets. We will inform you once ticket purchase is available. Stay in contact and register for our newsletter.


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Concerto for French Horn and Orchestra No. 3 in E flat Major, KV. 447Ondřej Brousek: Sinfonietta „La Petite Joie“Jan Kučera: Concerto for Baritone Saxophone and OrchestraSergej Prokofjev: Symphony No. 1 in D major, Op. 25, ʻClassicalʻ

Two contemporary works surrounded by two classics – that is how the chamber orchestra Czech Sinfonietta will make its premiere appearance at the Dvořák Prague Festival. Leading the ensemble consisting of outstanding Czech instrumentalists will be its founder, the horn player and conductor Radek Baborák.Mozart’s French Horn Concerto in E Flat Major is enjoyable music for both the listeners and the soloist. With that work, Radek Baborák will open the concert in the dual role of soloist and conductor, as was usual in Mozart’s day. The composers Ondřej Brousek and Jan Kučera are fluent in a wide range of musical genres, but in the Czech music world they are known above all for their ability to communicate with audiences without barriers – regardless of whether the music in question is popular or classical. The public can look forward to Brousek’s Sinfonietta “La Petite Joie”, inspired by the group of Parisian composers known as “Les six”, and Kučera’s Concerto for Baritone Saxophone and Orchestra. Serving as a more modern, rather ironic reflection of the Mozart concerto is the concluding Symphony No. 1 in D Major (“Classical”) by Sergei Prokofiev. This music is clearly inspired mainly by Haydn and to a lesser extent by Mozart. Prokofiev himself imagined how his Classical Symphony would enrage his professors at the conservatory, who would have accused him of not letting Mozart rest in peace, and instead provoking him with dissonances. The result of this provocation is one of Prokofiev’s most popular works, which offers a wonderful opportunity to the talented players of the Czech Sinfonietta.

  • Dress code: dark suit
  • Doors close: 19.55


Czech Sinfonietta

The artist’s profile will be added soon.

Czech Sinfonietta

Radek Baborák

The artist’s profile will be added soon.

Radek Baborák - conductor, French horn

Kateřina Pavlíková

The artist’s profile will be added soon.

Kateřina Pavlíková - baritone saxofone

Rudolfinum, Dvořák Hall

The Rudolfinum is one of the most important Neo-Renaissance edifices in the Czech Republic. In its conception as a multi-purpose cultural centre it was quite unique in Europe at the time of its construction. Based on a joint design by two outstanding Czech architects, Josef Zítek and Josef Schultz, a magnificent building was erected serving for concerts, as a gallery, and as a museum. The grand opening on 7 February 1885 was attended by Crown Prince Rudolph of Austria, in whose honour the structure was named. In 1896 the very first concert of the Czech Philharmonic Orchestra took place in the Rudolfinum's main concert hall, under the baton of the composer Antonín Dvořák whose name was later bestowed on the hall.